Why did Jesus call fishermen to follow him?


Fisherman

Why did Jesus call fishermen as the first disciples? Why not another trade? I believe the answer lies in Jeremiah 16. At the beginning of chapter 16, God reveals his intention to scatter the people of Israel for their wilful disobedience to him. But he then promises not to leave them in exile. Just as there was a first Exodus from slavery in Egypt, so there will be a second, even greater Exodus. What is the sign of the start of the second Exodus? God will raise up many fishermen!

Jeremiah 16:14-16 “However, the days are coming,” declares the LORD, “when men will no longer say, ‘As surely as the LORD lives, who brought the Israelites up out of Egypt,’ but they will say, ‘As surely as the LORD lives, who brought the Israelites up out of the land of the north and out of all the countries where he had banished them.’ For I will restore them to the land I gave their forefathers. “But now I will send for many fishermen,” declares the LORD, “and they will catch them.”

This entry was posted in The nature of the giver and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why did Jesus call fishermen to follow him?

  1. William says:

    Thank you for this post, the Jeremiah reference in right on. I’ll be using some of this information in my religion class at Baylor.

    • BCody says:

      I thoroughly enjoyed my time at Baylor…including my NT class with Dr. Lester. I hope you do well in your pursuits. Sic ‘em Bears!

Leave a Reply

