Fellowship of Word and Spirit – main talk 1


FOWS2013These are my scant notes (there was also a handout) from Wallace Benn’s first main talk on the delight and joy of prayer.  [These notes might not be the actual words Wallace said].

Pre-reformation – the people paid the priest to pray for them.
Post-reformation – justification by faith through grace, the way opened to God for all to pray in intimacy with their heavenly Father (Matthew 6, etc)

What does Jesus teach about prayer in John 14-16

John 14:13-14
Greater works than me.
Whatever you ask in my name…anything
There is nothing we cannot bring to God, either too big or two small.
We ask in his name, accepting his Lordship, so that nothing we ask for can be contrary to his will.
We want the Father to be glorified in his Son
My experience of his glory
Glorified by believing.
Prayer for many billions more to believe and delight in Jesus, to the glory of the Father.

John 15:7 – if you abide in me and my words abide in you, ask whatever you wish and it will be done.

Spiritual exercise – Highlight all the promises of God in scripture, then pray them into yourself, so that God’s word abides in you, and pray these promises for others.

John 16:23-26 -
Ask and you will receive that your joy may be full.
Our joy is connected to prayer – we find the complete joy of believing only in prayer.

Our joy might not be full simply because we are not asking.

Read Calvin on prayer – book 3, chapter 20

Prayer
The chief exercise of faith

My 12 year old son came and said “are you in a good mood.” You know that bike we saw in the window? If I save up my pocket money to buy it, by the time I’ve saved up, I’ll be too old to enjoy it. I know that you are not wealthy, and you might not be able to afford it, but can you just buy it for me?”

Relational, confident, humble.

This entry was posted in Conference notes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

