25 benefits of faith union with Christ


The table below lists 25 of the benefits of faith union with Christ. Christ won all these for his people on the cross. To benefit from them we need to spend time dwelling on them and thanking him for them. If we don’t, we’ll never live as joyful, humble and confident Christians.

Thomas Watson writes in his exposition of the Beatitudes

There are many truths swim in the brain, which do not sink into the heart, and those do us no good. Chew the cud. Let a Christian think seriously with himself, there is a blessedness feasible and I am capable of enjoying it, if I do not lay bars in the way and block up my own happiness. Though I see within nothing but guilt, and without nothing but curses, yet there is a blessedness to be had, and to be had for me too in the use of means.

I use the following table of truths to meditate on the gifts of Christ.

.

Gospel (good news)
Law (good works)
Status (good tree)
Purpose and Desire (good fruit)
I am regenerate (1 Peter 1:23) I desire to put off the old self and put on the new
I am justified (Romans 3:24, 1 Cor 6:11) I desire to be just
I am sanctified (1 Cor 6:11) I desire to be sanctified
I am clean (1 Cor 6:11) I desire to be clean
I am purified (Titus 1:15) I desire to be pure
I am healed (1 Peter 2:24) I desire to not injure myself
I am reconciled (Romans 5:10) I desire to reconcile
I am righteous (Phil 3:9) I desire to be righteous (by keeping the law)
I am redeemed from lawlessness (Titus 2:14) I desire not to be lawless (by keeping the law)
I am glorified (Romans 8:30) I desire to bring glory to Christ
I have received the gift of grace (Romans 5:17) I desire to be gracious
I am adopted by God (Romans 8:15-16) I desire to behave as a member of Christ’s family
I am loved by God (Romans 1:7) I love
I am a vessel of mercy (Romans 9:23) I desire to be merciful
I am a member of Christ’s body (1 Cor 12:13) I desire to act as Christ would (WWJD?)
I am a citizen of Christ’s Kingdom (Col 1:13) I desire to submit to Christ as King
I am perfect (Heb 10:14) I desire to be perfect
I am holy (Eph 4:24) I desire to be holy
I am a good tree (Luke 6:43) I desire to produce good fruit
I have died with Christ (Romans 6:3-4) I desire to be dead to sin
I am alive with Christ (Eph 2:5) I desire to be alive to him
I am raised with Christ (Romans 6:4) I desire to live a risen life
I am seated with Christ in the heavenly realms (Eph 2:6) I desire to live knowing my home is not here but with Christ
I am at rest (Matt 11:28 ) I desire be at rest with God
I am at peace with God (Romans 5:1) I desire be at peace and make peace
This entry was posted in Grace and Works and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 25 benefits of faith union with Christ

  1. Pingback: I’m here. And planning to meditate. « The Vicar's Wife

  2. GIFT NWANKWO says:

    i need more explanation on this topic.

  3. Frank Chibuike Chijioke says:

    What a wonderful research … keep it on

  4. Tem E Jangla Jnr says:

    Am really with Christ by faith and no one can be against me.

Leave a Reply

