I don’t deserve the Lord’s love…


There are, as far as I’m aware, two famous Colin Buchanans in the Christian world. One is the former Bishop of Woolwich, evangelical theologian and liturgist. The other is the Aussie Colin, of Aussie Praise for Kids fame. If you have kids or run kids work, then you must get all of his CDs and DVDs. Colin claims on his blog to have been most recently inspired by the “US Happy Calvinists – Piper, Mahaney, Dever, Mohler, Driscoll et al.”

Aussie Colin does his own liturgy. Here’s a prayer we use at tea-time with our kids, with a little adaptation (four extra lines at the end – I hope Colin doesn’t mind me posting his original and adding a bit):

I don’t deserve the Lord’s love,
I fail him every day,
In what I think, in what I do
and in the things I say.

But Jesus bore my punishment,
In death he took my place,
God’s love instead of judgement,
The bible calls that grace.

I do bad things most every day
and Jesus calls that sin.
I must repent, change my ways
and put my trust in him.

The original is on “Follow the Saviour” CD. I didn’t like the way I finished on a down beat, so I’ve added a fourth verse.

This entry was posted in Transforming hatred of Sin and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

