From the Vicarage April 2009


I thought I’d post my parish magazine letters, “From the Vicarage.” Here’s the first of four so far.

Dear Friends

I would like to thank everyone who has made me and the whole Robbie family feel so welcome as we moved from Wolverhampton to West Bromwich. If you read the Express and Star on the day after my induction you’ll know that we love the Black Country for the friendliness of its people.

When a new vicar arrives in a parish there can be questions about what sort of person he’ll be. Will he be friendly, approachable, easy to get along with? I hope I am nearly always all those things, though I know that sometimes I will need both God’s forgiveness and yours.

Some people wonder if the new vicar will make a difference or just hide behind the curtains. I’m not intending to tuck myself away in my study so do come and see me at the vicarage. I hope that things will change but I know that I won’t be the one who makes the changes. It is God who works wonders and makes his might known as the psalmist sings:

I will remember the deeds of the LORD;
yes, I will remember your wonders of old.
I will ponder all your work,
and meditate on your mighty deeds.
Your way, O God, is holy.
What god is great like our God?
You are the God who works wonders;
you have made known your might among the peoples.
Psalm 77:11-14

Just as the psalmist remembered God’s wonders of old, his work and mighty deeds, so I pray that God will work wonders among all the peoples of West Bromwich. I pray that God’s will be done on earth as it is in heaven.

There is one mighty deed in particular which makes all the difference; one wonder of old by which God works miracles today. As we approach Easter we have a very good opportunity to remember this deed and ponder it: the death of Jesus Christ, the Son of God, who gave his life on the cross that I might live. He lived the perfect, holy life that I cannot live and died the death that I should have died to make me right with God. This is the wonder of old which changes our eternity and transforms the hearts of sinners who truly trust in him.

I pray that this Easter will be a special one for you, that you will receive the blessing of God. That blessing is peace beyond all understanding as you fall into the strong arms of Christ our Saviour.

With love and prayer

Neil.

This entry was posted in From the vicarage and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

