It is a thing most wonderful


On Sunday evening, the first Sunday of advent, I preached Romans 5:8-9 on the undeserved kindness of God in Christ.

  1. God has shown his love to us
  2. Jesus did something wonderful by dying for us
  3. We did nothing to deserve this gift

While we were yet sinners, enemies of God, Christ died for us.

Our response must be:

  1. To show undeserved acts of kindness to our enemies (Jew and Gentile)
  2. To repent of the sins which anger God and make it hard for others to live with us

This is the way God brings peace on earth.

We then sang a hymn I had never sung before, which our organist Paul had chosen and which I had read only the first two verses of before the service.  It blew me away as the hymn matched the sermon theme almost exactly:

It is a thing most wonderful,
almost too wonderful to be,
that God’s own Son should come from heaven,
and die to save a child like me.

And yet I know that it is true:
he chose a poor and humble lot,
and wept, and toiled, and mourned, and died,
for love of those who loved him not.

I cannot tell how he would love
a child so weak and full of sin;
his love must be most wonderful,
if he could die my love to win.

I sometimes think about the cross,
and shut my eyes, and try to see
the cruel nails and crown of thorns
and Jesus crucified for me.

But even could I see him die,
I could but see a little part
of that great love, which, like a fire,
is always burning in his heart.

It is most wonderful to know
his love for me so free and sure;
but ’tis more wonderful to see
my love for him so faint and poor.

And yet I want to love thee, Lord;
O light the flame within my heart,
and I will love thee more and more,
until I see thee as thou art.

All praise and honour to God!

This entry was posted in Grace and Works and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

