7 more Christian personality types


There are at least three ways God is described in relation to his people in the bible: King, Father and Husband. The way we relate to God shapes who we are, what we feel and what we do.

God as King – sovereign, majestic, omnipotent, good law-giver
God, the blessed and only Ruler, the King of kings and Lord of lords, who alone is immortal and who lives in unapproachable light, whom no one has seen or can see. To him be honour and might forever. Amen. 1 Timothy 6:15-16

God as Father – generous, merciful, provider and protector
Our Father in heaven, hallowed be your name, your kingdom come, your will be done on earth as it is in heaven. Give us today our daily bread. Forgive us our debts, as we also have forgiven our debtors. And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from the evil one.’ Matthew 6:9-13

God as Husband – loving, faithful, true
“The time is coming,” declares the LORD, “when I will make a new covenant with the house of Israel and with the house of Judah. It will not be like the covenant I made with their forefathers when I took them by the hand to lead them out of Egypt, because they broke my covenant, though I was a husband to them,” declares the LORD. Jeremiah 31:31-32

It is clear that the way we relate to God will affect the way we behave before him. God is our King, Father and Husband and the following diagram shows what happens when we forget one or more of these aspects of God.

1. Dutiful servant – God is my King
I know the rules and know that I must fear, respect, honour and worship God. I am cold and ungrateful because I do not know the love or gracious provision of God.

2. Cosy Son – God is my Father
I know God is good to me and he provides all my needs. I am reckless and given to sin because I do not know the love of God or acknowledge him as King.

3. Beloved Bride – God is my Husband
I know God’s love and faithfulness. I am romantically attached to God but lack gratitude and obedience.

4. Grateful servant-son – God is my King and my Father
I must respect God and do what he says because he provides all my needs. I do not know the love of God in the life, death and resurrection of Christ Jesus, which was for me and my good.

5. Loved servant-bride – God is my King and Husband

I must respect God and do what he says because he loves me. I know Jesus died for my sins and made me right before the Lord, I love him and obey him but don’t see God as a generous Father.

6. Spoiled child-bride – God is my Father and my Husband
I love God because he spoils me and loves me. Obedience? Why should I obey God?

7. Respectful, obedient, confident subject-child-bride
I respect, honour and obey God because he loves me and provides all my needs in his Son, Jesus Christ. I am confident because I know I am adopted by God, he is my good Father. I love God because Jesus made me beautiful in his eyes, like a bride in white before her faithful husband. I know God’s commands are for my good and so I honour, respect, obey, worship and glorify God, as my good and perfect King.

As a Christian it is my duty and joy to relate to God as King, Father and Husband through faith in his Son who died for me and commands me to live to God.

As a minister it is my duty to always preach the sovereign, majestic, omnipotent, good law-giving, generous, merciful, providential, protective, loving, faithful, true and Almighty God of the bible; Father, Son and Holy Spirit; Husband, Father and King.

For more posts like this see Transforming Grace Venn diagram posts

This entry was posted in Grace and Works and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 7 more Christian personality types

  1. Pingback: Twitted by jamesctaylor

  2. Brother Charles says:

    On a strictly scriptural basis, I don’t see where we get the root hebrew word ba`al (husband and ruler – strong’s reference 1166) and turn it into “Beloved Bride – God is my Husband. I know God’s love and faithfulness. I am romantically attached to God but lack gratitude and obedience.”. Nowhere in the LXX, nor in MT do I see any other indication of following this degree of romanticism as described here. I think the above allegorical interpretation is reading in more text that what this passage really says. The authorial intent is to convey Gods covenant with people of Israel, but written in a poetic, saddened way that Jeremiah would know. Regardless, I have difficultly as a male to think in terms of being “romantic” with God, and having a love affair with the creator of the universe and ultimate judge. I think you are doing wonderful work though, and may God continue to bless you with ministry.

  3. neilrobbie says:

    Brother Charles, thank you for your comment and for your exegetical help. I may well have stretched the coventant-faithfulness of God as husband too far when making the link romantic. I am no Hebrew scholar, only having the capacity for three years of Greek at college.

    Is there not a fidelity based on love which God expects and nurtures in us through Christ? Love the Lord your God with all your heart…? The unfaithfulness of the bride in Isaiah, Jeremiah, Ezekiel reveals her lack of love for her husband-God. If she had loved him, she would not have strayed from him. Is this the problem with the church in Ephesus (Rev 2)? And is the sort of love that is absent in Israel what is celebrated in the Song of Songs?

    Thanks for your kind words of encouragement. Many blessings. Neil

Leave a Reply

