Sermon writing for dyslexics – mind mapping


This post follows my earlier posts on sermon preparation for dyslexics and exegesis for dyslexics. Once I have done my exegesis, theme sentence, aim sentence and sermon structure I am ready to start writing my talk. To do this, I use Mindmanager (2002) and a full talk looks like this:

Each branch of the mind map is a main point and the twigs on each branch a sub argument, illustration or application.

Once I can see the structure of the talk, I copy the text onto the clipboard and paste it into my word-processor. Mindmanager exports the text from the mindmap clockwise from the top which produces proper script.

To edit the talk I listen to what I’ve written on text to speech software (I use Dragon Naturally Speaking). I then colour the text to help me read, using read, blue and black text. I pray the talk in and am then ready to preach.

This entry was posted in Expository Preaching and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sermon writing for dyslexics – mind mapping

  1. Pingback: Sermon and talk mindmapping for dyslexics « Assembly ideas

  2. andrewgsu says:

    I add clipart to my mindmaps, and less text. I have uploaded one of mine so you can see it: http://wp.me/pDlJe-4G. I also take snapshots of the powerpoint screens so I know which should be displayed when! I also memorise it and preach it in the shower/driving etc. (not shower and driving at the same time!)
    Another thought I would like your opinion on: as dyslexics don’t have much of an internal dialogue, how do you deal with the concept of theological reflection? I am fine when chatting with others, but otherwise I really struggle. Got any hints? Or a definition?

  3. Willie says:

    Would like one full set (exegesis, mindmap & audio) to see how it all flow together. Is this something you can send to me?

    • neilrobbie says:

      Not sure I have all three at this time, my exegises ends up in the bin. I can send you a set of notes with a link to our church website, (holytrinitywb.org) if you like.

Leave a Reply

