1st anniversary of being a vicar


Yesterday was my first anniversary of being a vicar.  It’s been a steep learning curve and there’s still lots to work out.  My first six months were exhilarating, not least because I was walking closely with Christ.  The second six months were tiring and my walk with the Lord suffered.  I have a tendency to be success motivated and need to guard against it.  My daily prayer is “Let go of the need to be successful, be faithful to God’s will and do his work.”

I need to keep this first line of the prayer of humiliation from The Valley of Vision in my heart and mind:

Sovereign Lord
When Clouds of darkness, atheism, and unbelief come to me,
I see thy purpose of love
in withdrawing the Spirit that I might prize him more,
in chastening me for my confidence in past successes,
that my wound of secret godlessness might be cured.
but shortly I shall have it perfectly in heaven.

…When I am afraid of evils to come, comfort me, by showing that in myself I am a dying, condemned wretch,
but that in Christ I am reconciled, made alive and satisfied;
that I am feeble and unable to do any good,
but that in him I can do all things;
that what I now have in Christ is mine in part
but shortly I shall have it perfectly in heaven.

Amen

This entry was posted in Grace and Works and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

