Christ’s most amazing achievements


I’m 41 years old and have achieved a few good things in my life. I have two university degrees, a few high jump and javelin medals which my kids discovered on Saturday, I’ve been married for 15 years next month, worked overseas and now pastor a church. On a human level I have perhaps achieved a little above the average human being, but only a little. Yet, when I compare these achievements to what Christ achieved in 33 years, I am truly humbled:

Only, I would have you to remember, that by this one visit (the incarnation of the eternal Son of God), which continued for the space of about three and thirty years, he fulfilled the law, satisfied divine justice, finished transgression, made an end of sin, brought in everlasting righteousness, confirmed the covenant, overthrew principalities and powers, destroyed death, opened up the way to the holy of holies, laid a bridge of communication between heaven and earth, by which God might come to man with prejudice to his justice, and man might come to God without being consumed or overwhelmed.

From Gracious visits of Christ, or gradual advances of the day-spring from on high by Ebenezer Erskine 1730s

This entry was posted in The nature of the giver and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

