The wonder of substitutionary atonement: Ebenezer Erkine


Here’s a wonderful little post-Easter series of thoughts on Christ’s death from 18th century Scottish preacher Ebenezer Erskine:

Let faith fasten upon the suretyship of Christ, or his substitution in our room and stead. He gave bond, may faith say, to his Father, for the payment of my debt, and accordingly has paid it to the uttermost farthing; he has paid my debt to the precept of the law by his perfect obedience, he has paid what I owed to the penalty of the law and justice by his death on the cross; and so he has blotted out the hand-writing that was against me: he was made sin for me, that I might be made the righteousness of God in him; he was made a curse, that I might inherit the blessing; he has made way for his visit to my soul in a way of love by the complete satisfaction of justice; and now his name is “the Lord our righteousness.” And why then should I doubt but that the day-spring from on high shall pay me a visit of love?

I’m off to Scotland for a post-Easter break.

This entry was posted in Grace and Works and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

