10 ways in which God in Christ is a God of love #10


Here’s the 10th and final abridged extract from Ebenezer Erskine’s 10 point sermon on 10 ways in which God in Christ is a God of love:

Ebenezer Erskine

10. God in Christ is our God (to crown all). He makes a grant of himself in the covenant as such, “I will be their God” and he allows us to claim him by faith as our God, upon this very grant he makes of himself to us in Christ, Zech. xiii. 9. ” I will say, “this is my people”; and they shall say, “the Lord is my God.” Oh happy that soul that is enabled to give faith’s echo to this covenant grant, and say, “This God is in God for ever and ever; and he shall be my Guide even unto death.” In a word, God in Christ is our Father; for it is only God in Christ that says, “I will be unto them a Father, and they shall be unto me sons and daughters.” He hath taught us to say, “Our Father which art in heaven.” And he is displeased with us, when we are shy with him, through unbelief, to call him by this endearing title: Jer. iii. 4., “Wilt thou not from this time cry unto me, My Father, and not turn away from me?” Oh, what but the infinite bowels of love could speak in such a style and dialect! Now, from all this I think the truth of the doctrine is abundantly evident, that God in Christ is a God of love.

This entry was posted in The nature of the giver and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

