Russell Brand’s rebranding?


Russell Brand is interviewed in last week’s Big Issue. He talks about his married life to, as the interviewer describes her, “the Barbie-faced singer Katy Perry, whose Christian evangelical upbringing, day-glo wardrobe and teen following makes them an unlikely couple.”  Brand says:

I will fulfil those commitments (to his public persona) but in my marital life, I will prioritise the things required for that – loyalty and honesty and love.

He was asked “What does it feel like, having finally scaled that massive mountain and reached the top?”

Mostly, it’s a pain in the arse, now that I’m doing all those things that I wanted to do as a kid, they’re fulfilling in one respect, but they’re ultimately meaningless. It’s utterly vacuous, like being presented with the most glorious meal but there’s no taste, no succour, no nutrition. It’s just tiresome.

You become aware, at a certain time in your life, of the haunting spectre of death, and you think, ‘Right, well hold on. If I were to die soon, what would I want to be defined by?’ And always, that line of thinking leads to philanthropy and altruism… It’s just hard, because of bloody, tyrannising desire!

I wonder if Brand has ever read the words of the Apostle Paul?

I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. For what I do is not the good I want to do; no, the evil I do not want to do– this I keep on doing. Romans 7:18-19

Thinking about death and our tyrannical desires tends to lead us to Christ:

What a wretched man I am! Who will rescue me from this body of death? Thanks be to God– through Jesus Christ our Lord! Romans 7:24-25

This entry was posted in Transforming lives and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Russell Brand’s rebranding?

  1. étrangère says:

    Sadly, I think his remarks about desire are more buddhist – he has got himself a personal guru. But pray for him. Did you see his interview with Paxman? Surprisingly interesting!

  2. neilrobbie says:

    No I didn’t see the interview. The tyrannical desire language is a step in the right direction, whatever source it comes from, it sounds like the bondage of the will.

Leave a Reply

