Effectiveness = creativity x order


At a time management course last week, the following equation was thrown in to encourage the creative to be more orderly and the orderly to be more creative.

Effectiveness = creativity x order

The equation presses a biblical button as God created order and so it made me think about my effectiveness.  I am naturally creative but struggle with order.  I need to work on being ordered and this equation gives me the incentive.

Assuming that we can represent the creativity/order balance as a ratio of 10, then the most effective I can be is to have a perfect balance of creativity and order.

Creativity Order Sum effectiveness
10 0 0
9 1 9
8 2 16
7 3 21
6 4 24
5 5 25
4 6 24
3 7 21
2 8 16
1 9 9
0 10 0

It’s a great encouragement to see that I might be as imbalanced as 7:3 and still be about 80% effective.

This entry was posted in church leadership and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Effectiveness = creativity x order

  1. Laurence says:

    that’s helpful, thanks for posting it!

    The sceptic in me says that there needs to be a third column for work ethic though.

Leave a Reply

