Liturgy for Jonah


We’re on a six sermon series from the book of Jonah. This is our confession:

The great commission

The Lord Jesus Christ said
“Go and make disciples of all nations baptising them in the name of the Father, and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you.”

Call to confession

The Spirit of the Lord fills the world
and knows our every word and deed.
Let us open ourselves to the Lord
And confess our sins
in penitence and faith.

A confession from Jonah

In my distress I called to the LORD,
and he answered me.
From deep in the realm of the dead
I called for help,
and you listened to my cry.

You hurled me into the depths,
into the very heart of the seas,
and the currents swirled about me;
all your waves and breakers
swept over me.

Lord, like Jonah, I have run from your command
to go and make disciples of all nations.
I have chosen instead the more comfortable road.
I am truly sorry.

I now turn from worthless idols
towards your wonderful love for your children.
With shouts of grateful praise,
I will be a living sacrifice for you.
And I will say, ‘Salvation comes from the LORD.’ Amen.

This entry was posted in Liturgy for Bible Books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

