40 Days of Transformation. Day 1 – redeem the time


Where does all the time go?  I’ve been a vicar for 4 years and I work flat-out like most vicars; preparing talks, holding meetings, visiting, trying to manage paperwork, being involved in church school and so on.  I work about 55 hours a week on average.  That leaves 113 hours a week for me and my family.  Of that, I sleep for about 56 hours, which leaves 57 hours awake and not working. So, what do I do with that time?

I know that after the early morning routine and the evening routine, I am tired.  Sometimes the ministry treadmill runs too fast, having energetic young kids is a joy but tiring.  When I need to relax, it is then that I can redeem the time.

Palm 39:4-5
Show me, O Lord, my life’s end
and the number of my days; let me know
how fleeting is my life. You have made my days a mere handbreadth;
the span of my years is as nothing before you.
Each man’s life is but a breath.

Our TV is almost as old

Our TV is almost as old

This lent, the vicar’s wife and I will not relax after the kids have gone to bed by watching TV but with devotion, prayer and reading. We did much more of this before we got a TV licence and routines changed (see TV and living a Christ-Centred life). We flob for up to 10 hours a week in front of the TV at night. That time needs to be redeemed.

This entry was posted in Transforming lives and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

