Sabbatical Day 45: TTC and Singapore


Trinity Theological College in Singapore is our home for nine days. We have a comfortable two room apartment in the student accommodation. I made use of the spacious college library this morning to continue my sabbatical studies. When I heard the students chatting at coffee and wandered down to the cafe. I asked three of the more senior students if I could join them and one asked if I used to attend Christ Church. His name was Moses and we worked out that he was 11 years old when we first met!

I then met with Rev Jonathan Wong, who I served beside at Christ Church for six months. Jonathan and I had 14 years of to catch up on and I’ll be speaking at the church where he serves, Church of the Good Shepherd English Service, on Sunday.

In the afternoon, the Robbie family went for a bum boat ride in the bay and shopped in China Town. We stopped for some juice (see photo).  Anyone want to guess the flavours?

Singapore has changed massively since 2002. New MRT (underground lines), lots more high rise apartments and the CBD (Central Business District) has doubled in size, now stretching into the bay on reclaimed land and stilts. Chinatown is unchanged, almost, and I even managed to find my old tailor, though her shop has moved.

This entry was posted in Extended Study Leave and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

