Why I don’t wear a dog collar (part 2)


I have previously posted on the way the tabloid press has successfully rebranded the clergy as frequently grossly immoral, which is one reason among many for why I do not wear a dog collar.

Another reason I do not wear one is that people don’t mask their sin when I first meet them because they don’t know I am clergy. When they find out that I am a vicar, it causes shock, apologies and great looks of guilt when they’ve said or done something in front of me that they know is wrong.

I once visited a parishioner in a care home. During my visit, two nurses were talking about him behind his back in disparaging language thinking that he couldn’t hear or understand. I have played golf with people who happily swear on their way around the course until they ask what I do. I am treated like a normal customer at various counters, until I write down my address or give my job title.

But why should people think that they need to behave well when near a man with a piece of white plastic in his collar yet not in anyone else’s company?

About neilrobbie

I am a 6'6" formerly ginger Scot, in a cross cultural marriage to my lovely Londoner wife. We've lived in SE Asia and since 2005, I have served as an Anglican minister in Wolverhampton and West Bromwich.
This entry was posted in Other matters and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Why I don’t wear a dog collar (part 2)

  1. James Oakley says:

    Chappo tells the story of how he played tennis with someone for many months, and one day they found out he was a clergyman.

    “Why didn’t you tell me this before”?
    “I didn’t think it had much to do with playing tennis?”
    “Well… have I done anything wrong?”
    “I don’t know, have you?”

Leave a comment